The Infamous Stringdusters announce ‘Silver Sky Deluxe Edition,’ fall tour

 

The Infamous Stringdusters’ constant, relentless, revelatory musical evolution – is released on October 16, 2012 in a very special Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition. Delivered by SCI Fidelity and the band’s own High Country label, Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition includes a previously unreleased bonus track, “He’s Gone,” and the bonus live album, We’ll Do It Live.

Fresh off a huge summer with festival plays at Bonnaroo, Electric Forest, Wakarusa, DelFest, RockyGrass and many others, now The Infamous Stringdusters gear up for a fall tour in support of Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition. But first, the band’s beloved festival, simply dubbed The Festy, celebrates its third year in the secluded hills of Nelson County, VA – with stellar music, flagship outdoor events, tasty local food, and more. Check out the Honest Tune video coverage from last year’s event, HERE — and exclusive acoustic performance footage below.

Working with an unlikely studio partner – hip-hop producer Billy Hume (Ludacris, Nas) – Silver Sky (first released in March of this year) finds The Infamous Stringdusters’ powerful rhythms and vocal melodies at the forefront of the music. Paired with We’ll Do It Live – a seamless live recording culled from four epic 2011 performances – Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition eloquently demonstrates a band whose artistic voice has fully emerged, and offers a riveting glimpse of just how, and where, The Infamous Stringdusters are leading the bluegrass revolution. Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition is available exclusively at independent retail stores throughout the country, with Silver Sky (without the bonus track) and We’ll Do It Live available separately online, and on vinyl at retail stores only.

Before the release of Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition, the 2012 installment of The Festy Experience, the annual gathering in Nelson County, Virginia hosted and curated by The Infamous Stringdusters, takes place October 5-7, 2012. More than a music festival, the band emphasizes the “experience” aspect with a celebration of outdoor living in an idyllic, consciously intimate natural setting near Charlottesville. Nestled on the private Concert Ground at Devils Backbone Brewing Company, the renowned brewery and full service restaurant serves up food and international award winning microbrews throughout the festival. In addition to the Dusters, the lineup for this year’s Festy includes Trampled By Turtles, Leftover Salmon, Keller & The Keels, Rubblebucket, Lake Street Dive, Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers, Elephant Revival, and 17 others. For certain, a handcrafted, eye-to-the-details philosophy infuses The Festy Experience, from the carefully chosen lineup of road seasoned kindred spirits to the locally sourced food to outdoor activities like the Blue Ridge Burn, a 5k/10k trail race that winds up old logging roads. More information and tickets available at www.thefesty.com.

After The Festy, The Infamous Stringdusters’ Fall Tour kicks off on the October 16 release date of Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition, at Brooklyn Bowl. Hosted during the CMJ Music Marathon, in partnership with fellow independent music advocates PledgeMusic, Tunecore, and Relix Magazine, the show promises to launch the band’s fall season with a bang. The tour continues on for over 20 dates, winding through parts of the east coast and Midwest, before jumping to the west coast, then wrapping up in the Rocky Mountains in mid-November. In December, the band heads to the Mayan Riviera for Cloud 9 Adventures’ inaugural Strings & Sol. The complete list of confirmed tour dates is included below.

The Infamous Stringdusters are heirs to the transgressive tradition of bluegrass. The band, who recently relocated from Nashville, TN to their new home in Charlottesville, VA, has been quietly amassing a huge and loyal following of fans for seven years. Meanwhile, their exciting impact on the changing face of bluegrass was noticed right out of the gate; the band’s debut album Fork in the Road (2007, Sugar Hill) garnered attention from The International Bluegrass Music Association, who awarded the Stringdusters three major prizes: for song, emerging artist and album of the year.

For certain, The Infamous Stringdusters have spent “a good stretch of time…learning their craft and woodshedding their musical chops” (Lexington Herald). But aside from their stunning musicianship, the musical style that has resulted is how this band is making their mark on music history. “Somehow familiar and timeless, [The Infamous Stringdusters] propel the legacy of bluegrass and string band music into the future with a stunning blend of musical virtuosity and fresh energy” (Telluride Inside). This is High Country music. This is The Infamous Stringdusters.

 


 

The Infamous Stringdusters on Tour:

 

Thursday, September 6   ☼   Austin TX
Friday, September 7   ☼   Dallas TX
Saturday, September 8   ☼    Houston TX
Friday, September 21   ☼   North Adams MA
Sunday, September 23   ☼   Life Is Good Festival – Canton MA

 

Friday, October 5 – Sunday, October 7
The Festy Experience
at Devil’s Backbone in Roseland VA

 

Tuesday, October 16   ☼    Brooklyn, NY
Thursday, October 18    ☼    Portland ME
Friday, October 19   ☼  South Burlington VT
Saturday, October 20   ☼  Ithaca NY
Tuesday, October 23   ☼  Ann Arbor MI
Wednesday, October 24   ☼  Kalamazoo MI
Friday, October 26  ☼  Madison WI

 

Saturday, October 27 – Sunday, October 28
Hangtown Halloween Ball Placerville CA

 

Tuesday, October 30   ☼    Bozeman MT
Wednesday, October 31   ☼   Missoula MT
Thursday, November 1   ☼   Enterprise OR
Friday, November 2   ☼   Bend OR
Saturday, November 3   ☼   Portland OR
Sunday, November 4   ☼   Arcata CA
Monday, November 5   ☼   Chico CA
Thursday, November 8   ☼   Salt Lake City UT
Friday, November 9   ☼   Fort Collins CO
Saturday, November 10    ☼  Denver CO
Tuesday, November 13   ☼   Lawrence KS
Wednesday, November 14   ☼   St. Louis MO
Thursday, November 15   ☼   Columbus OH
Friday, November 16   ☼   Roanoke VA
Saturday, November 17   ☼   Carrboro NC

 

Wednesday, December 12 – Sunday, December 16 Strings & Sol Festival –
Dreams Resort Tulum Tulum, Quintana Roo Mexico

Additional dates to be announced.

 


 

Wood Brothers: Live, Backstage & Unplugged

at The Festy, 2011

 

Brett Dennen:

Live Backstage & Unplugged at The Festy

 

Acoustic Sessions at The Festy :

Emmitt Nershi Band”This House”

 

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *