Justin Townes Earle to take new album to the stage

Justin Townes Earle burst onto the national music scene in the spring of 2008, releasing The Good Life, a debut that received immediate praise. He celebrated with electrifying performances at SXSW and a few short months later, his Grand Ole Opry debut.  He has been a house afire ever since, globetropping from the North America to Europe to Australia at a breakneck pace, proving his prodigious talent has no expiration date. Less than a year later, Bloodshot Records announces the release of Midnight at the Movies, in stores March 3rd as well as tour dates for the next four months. 

Within the first song on Justin Townes Earle’s second album Midnight At the Movies, you just know you’re hearing something special, that you are party to the unknown and exhilarating paths being charted by an artist on the creative ascendancy. If you didn’t look at the songwriting credits, you’d swear the songs were penned on the stoop of a one-pump filling station in Dust Bowl-era Oklahoma, the smoke-filled song and dream factories of Tin Pan Alley, or at the back door of Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge in Nashville.  Justin effortlessly taps the romanticism imbued in the beaten-soled travelogues and mythos of Woody Guthrie, the lounging around a campfire at a work camp and the edgy angst of a wintry Minneapolis (yeah, just try to get that mandolin line from the cover of the "Mats " Can’t Hardly Wait" out of your head.)

Midnight at the Movies is held firm by Justin’s astonishing vision, yet roams o’er the vast landscape of American music without so much as a stumble.  From the deft ear for orchestration and ambient arrangements reminiscent of Randy Newman through, somehow, the countrypolitan cool of Lambchop and hipster retro vibes of Palace Brothers/Silver Jews and Magnetic Fields (simply look to the title track for proof), to the amber-smooth swing of the Ray Price school of country (“What I Mean To You”, “Poor Fool”), to the immediacy and disarming simplicity of country blues (“They Killed John Henry”), Earle pulls it all off with a confidence and candor that tells the listener that the daring exhibited on his debut album, The Good Life was not a one shot deal and only hinted at the growth to come.

JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE ON TOUR:
Sat   Feb 21      Indianapolis, IN              Spencer’s Stadium Tavern 
Fri    Feb 27      Murray, KY                    Lovett Auditorium 
Sat   Feb 28      Columbus, OH               The Rumba Café 
Tue  Mar   3       New York, NY               Mercury Lounge 
Wed Mar 4        Alexandria, VA              The Birchmere  
Thu  Mar 5         Whitesburg, KY             Summit City  
Fri   Mar 6         Louisville, KY                 St. Francis of Assisi 
Sat  Mar 7         Knoxville, TN                 Barley’s 
Sun Mar 8         Chattanooga, TN            JJ’s Bohemia 
Tue Mar 10        Atlanta, GA                   Eddie’s  Attic  
Wed Mar 11      Nashville, TN                  The Basement 
Thu Mar 12        Nashville, TN                 The Basement 
Fri Mar 13         Nashville, TN                 The Basement 
Sat Mar 14        Springfield, IL                 Hoogland Center for the Arts  
Sun Mar 15       Dekalb, IL                      Rose Bowl Tavern
Fri Mar 20         Austin, TX                     Yard Dog Gallery
Sat Mar 20        Austin,  TX                    Red Eyed Fly
 
WITH JASON ISBELL & THE 400 UNIT
Tue Mar 24        Memphis, TN                 The Hi-Tone 
Wed Mar 25      Little Rock, AR              Sticky Fingerz  
Thu Mar 26        Oklahoma City, OK        Wormy Dog Saloon  
Sat Mar 28        Telluride, CO                 Sheridan Opera House
Mon Mar 30       Flagstaff, AZ                  Green Room 
Tue Mar 31        Tucson, AZ                   Club Congress  
Thu Apr 2          Los Angeles, CA            Spaceland 
Fri Apr 3            San Francisco, CA        The Independent  
Sat Apr 4          Sacramento, CA            Blue Lamp 
Sun Apr 5          Portland, OR                 Doug Fir  
Mon Apr 6         Seattle, WA                  Tractor Tavern
Wed Apr 8         Salt Lake City, UT          The State Room
Thu  Apr 9         Aspen, CO                    Belly Up  
Fri Apr 10          Vail, CO                        The Sand Bar
Sat Apr 11         Denver, CO                    The Bluebird
Sun Apr 12        Kansas City, MO           Knuckleheads
Tue Apr 14        Lincoln, NE                   Knickerbockers
Wed Apr 15       St Paul, MN                  The Turf Club
Thu Apr 16        Madison, WI                  High Noon Saloon
Fri Apr 17          Chicago, IL                   Double Door
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *