Femi Kuti touring this summer

Like father, like son.

Femi Kuti is the undisputed inheritor of the genius of Nigerian Afro-beat superstar Fela Anikulapo-Kuti.  His version of Afro-beat is the most exciting sound to emerge from Nigeria for years, borrowing the best elements from his father's powerfully polyrhythmic prototype of funk, jazz, and a sound that took James Brown's beat back to Africa.

There is enormous interest around Femi in 2007, in that it is 10 years since his father's death and it is 200 years since the abolition of slavery, an issue that Femi is very outspoken on.

The Definitive Collection: Femi Kuti draws on all three of Femi's albums including tracks from the rare first self -titled album, with stunning tracks "Wonder Wonder" and "Survival."  Also included is his duet with Rachid Taha singing the haunting "Ala Jalkoum" and a remake of one of Fela's favorites "Water No Get Enemy" which was on the Red Hot and Riot tribute album. This is coupled with a limited edition bonus CD of 10 of the finest mixes of all things Femi Kuti.

 

Tour dates:
2-Jul Monday Summerfest MILWAUKEE
4-Jul Wednesday Comerica City Festival DETROIT
6-Jul Friday Ottawa Blues Festival OTTAWA
7-Jul Saturday Quebec Festival QUEBEC CITY
8-Jul Sunday Paradise BOSTON
11-Jul Wednesday Summerstage NYC
12-Jul Thursday Philadelphia Theater of the Living Arts PHILADELPHIA
13-Jul Friday 9:30 Club WASHINGTON DC
14-Jul Saturday Variety Playhouse ATLANTA
16-Jul Monday Stubb's AUSTIN
18-Jul Wednesday ORPHEUM FLAGSTAFF
19-Jul Thursday HOB SAN DIEGO
20-Jul Friday HOB LOS ANGELES
21-Jul Saturday Fillmore SAN FRANCISCO
22-Jul Sunday Truckee Regional Park TRUCKEE
25-Jul Wednesday Showbox SEATTLE
26-Jul Thursday Commodore Ballroom VANCOUVER
27-Jul Friday Horning's Hideout PORTLAND
29-Jul Sunday The Depot SALT LAKE CITY
30-Jul Monday Belly Up ASPEN
31-Jul Tuesday Boulder Theater BOULDER
2-Aug Thursday Minneapolis Zoo Amphitheater MINNEAPOLIS
3-Aug Friday Lollapalooza Festival CHICAGO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *